Mount Hood National Forest > Oregon Department of Forestry 2N-12E-32
May 1936: "The county has already deeded to us a small parcel of land on a high point about seven miles due west of The Dalles on which we expect to construct this summer a standard lookout house on a 30 foot tower together with a combination garage and woodhouse. This point will be known as the Wasco Lookout Station and is situated north of the intersection of the Mosier and Chenowith roads. Eric Gordon" (Six Twenty-Six)
August 10, 1936: Panorama photos taken.
August 1953: "District Warden John Doran and Warden William LaRose, North Central Oregon State unit, dropped into the office of the state forester a few days ago with the latter carrying a paper sack. Bill turned the sack upside down and out rolled a very much alive and active rattlesnake that was over two feet in length. Bill picked the reptile up with careless disregard as to just where be grabbed him and then to discount any claim that the animals fangs had been extracted, he opened the snake's mouth and there were the fangs laid back on the roof of the mouth where they are normally carried when not in action. LaRose said that he brought the snake to Salem just to prove to James Walker, assistant state forester, that there were rattlesnakes in Wasco county. Walker had been up there a number of times but had never seen a snake. So he assumed that the country did not boast of any. John Doran stated that the snake had been captured on the Wasco lookout where it had taken refuge under the steps to the cabin. The lookout, Janet Fry had called the office at The Dalles and told them there was a snake under the front steps and she could not get out of the building. So John sent LaRose to the young lady's aid and the snake was captured. It turned out that LaRose had had previous experience as a snake charmer." (The Forest Log)
1953: "Wasco Lookout was repainted on the interior and parts of the exterior." (North Central Unit Annual Report)
1955: "By cooperation with the Highway Dept. and the Forestry Dept. power was obtained for Wasco LO for radio remote purposes. Installations have not been made completed as yet." (North Central Unit Annual Report)
1960: "Wasco Butte LO reported the Eight Mile Fire at 2:51 PM on June 21, 1960. Wasco Butte LO reported the Pleasant Ridge Fire at 4:25 PM on August 3, 1960." (North Central Unit Annual Report)
1965: This station called in two first reports.
1966: During the fire season three first reports were called in from this station